hand grip... help me!!!

A forum to discuss pole vault technique as it relates to beginning vaulters. If you have been jumping less than a year, this is the forum for you.

Moderator: achtungpv

PV CaRaZzY65
PV Newbie

hand grip... help me!!!

Unread postby PV CaRaZzY65 » Sat Apr 23, 2005 8:30 pm

heya, i need some help with my hand grip... this is my first year vaulting and at my first meet i cleared 7.0 then 7.6 and the last saturday 8.0, i progressed really well but now i feel like im stuck, i have good speed but my hands tend to slip an awful lot, im not sure how to fix this problem, i feel like im holding on really tight but my hands move anyway, if you know of anyway to help me let me know!!!! thanks!!
*In Some States It's Illegal To Get This High...*

ladyvolspvcoach
PV Follower

Hands slipping

Unread postby ladyvolspvcoach » Sat Apr 23, 2005 8:37 pm

Without knowing your stats (how tall, length of pole, how high is your grip, etc) the general rule of thumb is that you will slide down the pole nearly the same amount the you are "under" on your take-off!! Try to start where your hands end up after sliding. Don't change your step. See if you slide now. If not gradually move your step and grip up. Have someone catch your step to make sure your not over striding.....That usually works for the new vaulters I coach. :D

PV CaRaZzY65
PV Newbie

stats

Unread postby PV CaRaZzY65 » Sun Apr 24, 2005 3:21 pm

my pole is 12'6" and its a 125 (i weigh about 115), im holding about 10 feet up so my coach says that i should vault as high as my top hand but im stuck at 8'6" because my hands slip, does that help any? could it be a lack of strength to pull myself up?

PVPirate26
PV Pro
Expertise: Former College Vaulter, High School Coach
Lifetime Best: 10'8"
Favorite Vaulter: Tim Mack

Unread postby PVPirate26 » Sun Apr 24, 2005 5:38 pm

do you feel like your hands are slipping because you can't get a good grip on the pole??

ladyvolspvcoach
PV Follower